Rahim
Rahim

Rahim reviewed

Delacroix
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
28 Oct, 2018

Difficile de naviguer dans l’immense musée ! Expo magnifique qui raisonne avec les collections permanentes spectaculaires...

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Vhils: Fragments Urbains
@ 104 Le centquatre, Paris, France
12 Jun, 2018

The 104 is a great place to see an exhibition and hang out. I wouldn't travel too far for this show but in the context of the overall experience I enjoyed it.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Vhils: Fragments Urbains
@ 104 Le centquatre, Paris, France
04 Jun, 2018

J’ai beaucoup aimé l’installation de fragments urbains peints en blanc au milieu de l’espace d’expostion. Après je suis plus mitigée sur les différentes salles constituant l’expo. Parfois un peu tiré par les cheveux. En revanche première fois au 104 et un experience super !

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Guernica
@ Picasso Museum, Paris, France
23 May, 2018

This exhibition is a well-told story about one of the planet's most famous works of art. It's a history lesson no classroom can provide and one that feels accessible to anyone strolling through the Marais.

Antoine
Antoine

Antoine
commented on 03 Jul, 2018

Super exposition picasso à voir absolument!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

21 May, 2018

While the show was well organised and documented, I didn’t really enjoyed it. I guess just because the topic was not one of my favourite.. a bit harsh. Still very interesting for those of you passionate about this period of history.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy
commented on 12 Jun, 2018

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Public Parks, Private Gardens: Paris to Provence
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
21 May, 2018

Very nice pieces that we already know but we’ll organizwd and still and always beautiful to see. A great moment!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Grant Wood: American Gothic and Other Fables
@ Whitney Museum, New York, USA
21 May, 2018

The Whitney museum is a piece of art in itself but this exhibit was really good. We have space to navigate between the different sections and the show is very well documented thanks to the audio guides (which are free by the way). This is really what we’re expevting to see when we think about American art. Very realistic, precise pieces. A good echo and illustration of the society and it’s evokurion at this time too.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Heavenly Bodies: Fashion and the Catholic Imagination
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
21 May, 2018

« Heavenly bodies” is the show that has been thrown during the Met ball early May and each year it’s one of the very most expected fashion show as led by Anna Wintour. This one is just magical: the set up of the exhibition is fantastic: the dresses and jewellery are featured within the middle age/byzantin art section of the museum which perfectly fits the show’s theme. The pieces presented are just amazing. And the Met is one of the most beautiful museums I’ve stepped in. So go see this one and enjoy!!!!

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Subodh Gupta: First Retrospective in France
@ Monnaie de Paris, Paris, France
18 May, 2018

I snuck in during my lunch hour and I loved it. It was the first time I'd been to an exhibition on this artist and I found the message and symbolism in his work powerful. I'll remember this one and I recommend you head over mid-day sometime during the week to have the place to yourself.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Kupka
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
09 May, 2018

Great exhibit which shows well the evolution of the artist from the beginning of his career to a more mature period ; from figuration to abstraction. A great variety of art pieces and a real pleasure for the eye. It’s a must in Paris those days!

Nadège
Nadège

Nadège reviewed

David Bowie is
@ Brooklyn Museum, New York, USA
25 Apr, 2018

Exposition tout simplement magnifique comme le maître...

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Joujita: The Crazy Years (1913-1931)
@ Musée Maillol, Paris, France
10 Apr, 2018

Sujet inédit et incroyablement intéressant ! Artiste entre deux cultures il passe pour un peintre francisé aux yeux des japonnais pour un pur japonnais vis à vis des occidentaux! Foujita a une personnalité très attachante, ses traits de crayon sont d'une exactitude de compas ses toiles ont une préparation magique entre laque et huile, il semble étendre avec une ouate des ombres douces, immatérielles! Ses amis intimes ne sont autres que Matisse, Chagall, Modigliani, dont on retrouve l'influence dans ses peintures. Courez voir cette exposition elle est formidable!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863)
@ Louvre, Paris, France
09 Apr, 2018

Delacroix is not my favorite artist but this exhibit was really comprehensive with a wide range of different works and styles I didn't expect. It's definitely a luck to see such a huge number of art pieces from the famous painter gathered at a time in one place. At least for that reason, the show is one of the must sees in Paris this spring,

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863)
@ Louvre, Paris, France
29 Mar, 2018

A n'en pas douter c'est l'exposition phare de ce printemps!Pour moi Delacroix se résumait à "la liberté guidant le peuple" que nenni! Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise en découvrant la diversité de sa peinture: aussi bien des huiles gigantesques des aquarelles ses dessins, ou l'on sent la maîtrise absolue de ses moyens picturaux! Les thèmes sont aussi variés que les natures mortes, les animaux, les scènes bibliques, la mythologie. on sent ça et là l'inspiration tirée de Rembrandt, Rubens......;allez y c'est éblouissant!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Kupka
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
29 Mar, 2018

I really enjoyed this show and encourage anyone to go! I didn't know the artist but heard a lot about the exhibition on TV and at the radio or through friends. I am not a big fan of abstract art but actually, his art touched me a lot. It's very colorful and you can really feel something when you're staring at the paintings. The show is also a good way to see the evolution of Kupka's art.

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

22 Mar, 2018

Cette exposition nous rappelle que Barbizon est l'une des destinations de prédilection des peintres néerlandais! Les échanges artistiques esthétiques et amicaux entre ces derniers et des peintres français sont remarquablement mis en scène au Petit Palais; 9 peintres hollandais de différentes époques : van Spaendonck, Scheffer Maris, Jongkind, Kaemmerer, Breitner, van Gogh, van Dongen et Mondrian sont présentés aux côtés d’artistes français contemporains comme Géricault, David, Corot, Millet, Boudin, Monet, Cézanne, Signac, Braque, Picasso...

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Tintoretto: Birth of a Genius
@ Luxembourg, Paris, France
19 Mar, 2018

Cette exposition met à l'honneur les premières années de l'activité de Tintoret de son vrai nom Jacopo Robusti. Cet homme d'extraction assez simple est d'une ambition d'un culot et d'une audace démesurés, il peint très rapidement et fait des jaloux se fâche avec Le Titien pour ne citer que lui. Ses premiers tableaux peints à l'age de 18 ans sont époustouflants. Véronique Dollfus a fait la scénographie de l'exposition et a voulu que notre regard s'échappe......c'est très interessant!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

César
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
19 Mar, 2018

Une exposition sympa et facile. Pas d'explications incroyables ou de significations particulières liées aux oeuvres, du coup ça rend l'expérience assez simple. C'est surtout pour le plaisir des yeux et c'est assez original. Ca vaut le coup d'y aller avant la fin qui est bientôt !

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Margiela / Galliera, 1989-2009
@ Palais Galliera, Paris, France
18 Mar, 2018

Interesting and fun. It's not another fashion exhibit ; it's different and original maybe because Margiela's work is itself different. I definitely recommend!

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Margiela / Galliera, 1989-2009
@ Palais Galliera, Paris, France
18 Mar, 2018

I am no fashion guru so I discovered this designer. The exhibition set-up felt like a reflection of the man himself, and while I wasn’t super keen on the designs, the show was put in context of the time which made it more relatable. Would be a good show to see with a date ;)

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Mohamed Bourouissa: Urban Riders
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
12 Mar, 2018

C'est amusant et différent de ce que l'on a l'habitude de voir.

CHeckscher.old
CHeckscher.old

CHeckscher.ol... reviewed

David Hockney
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
25 Feb, 2018

Walking from gallery to gallery was like something out of "And now for something completely different" -- continuous experimentation, right up to the present day with iPad-based animated presentations. I didn't like all of it, and probably no one would; but I liked a lot of it, and probably everyone would - given the range and consistent skill.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Constance Guisset Design, Actio!
@ MAD - Arts Decoratifs, Paris, France
23 Feb, 2018

Posture, symbols and decor are the three words I came away with. The set up is interesting and fairly original, some sections are cooler than others, but generally I enjoyed strolling through the show. Wasn't crowded either so if you're looking for some time between lovers this is a good one ;)

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

César
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
18 Feb, 2018

First things first: the set up was incredible. Overlooking Paris with the Pompidou Center’s floor-to-ceiling windows, César’s works are littered through this exhibition in a easy way that’s easy to navigate.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Power Plays
@ Louvre, Paris, France
18 Feb, 2018

The theme of this exhibition is interesting and relevant but seemed to outdo the experience itself. It was a highly-publicised but small show so perhaps the mediocre experience is as much a question of expectations as it is about story.