chocolatine
chocolatine

chocolatine reviewed

Valentin de Boulogne: Beyond Caravaggio
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
Impressive
09 Jan, 2017

Quite an impressive collection of Valentin's work - this is one of the larger exhibitions that I have seen at the MET in many years. Having so many of his paintings arranged according to theme in large rooms provided a great opportunity to understand and appreciate the work. Also, the text panels on many of the works provided a level of insight that was both fun and informative.

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

The Spectacular Second Empire, 1852-1870
@ Musée d'Orsay, Paris, France
Spectaculaire Second Empire
08 Jan, 2017

Quelle richesse que cette époque, toute en contradiction! J'ai beaucoup aimé le mélange de peintures, sculptures, bijoux, et autres objets d'art! Comment ne pas être fiers d'être Français!

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Bazille
08 Jan, 2017

Bravo au musée d'orsay de consacrer une exposition à ce peintre trop tôt disparu! sa progression est mise en parallèle avec ses contemporains et amis qui ne sont autres, excusez du peu, que Monet, Manet, Fantin-Latour,Renoir, Cezanne et j'en passe.........Ne vous privez surtout pas de cette délicieuse promenade!

Edouard
Edouard

Edouard reviewed

Rodin & Dance: The Essence of Movement
@ Courtauld Gallery, London, England
a bit light?
07 Jan, 2017

Too focussed not to be outshined by the gallery's collection of masterpieces

Louis
Louis

Louis reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
Superbe
06 Jan, 2017

Belle expo dans un bel endroit

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Fear and Love: Reactions to a Complex World
@ Design Museum, London, London, England
Design at the heart of most of today's issues
01 Jan, 2017

Just a few rooms for this wonderful exhibit but some amazing installations. I would mention three of them: an interesting film about Mongolian cultural transformations, Mimus the huge smart robot (made for the kids enjoyment) and the pan European living room created with furnitures from the 28 member states! Take the opportunity of this visit to discover the design museum, its congenial environment, cosy restaurant and great store!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Robert Rauschenberg
@ Tate Modern, London, England
Meeting with a multidisciplinary artist
01 Jan, 2017

At first it felt difficult to dive into the show as there is no real homogeneity among the art works. Rauschenberg seems to have tried many arts and technics from painting to sculpture and installations through drawing or image transfer. The most impressive part of the exhibit is the one where art and engineering are combined to create massive and original pieces.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Undressed: A Brief History of Underwear
@ Victoria & Albert, London, England
A good mix of fashion and history
01 Jan, 2017

Super set up for this gorgeous exhibition where so many pretty outfits were presented. It was captivating to see the evolution of men and women's underwears and indoor clothing from the 17th century up to now. If you like fashion and history, this show is for you!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Picasso Portraits
@ National Portrait Gallery UK, London, England
So so...
01 Jan, 2017

The first part of the exhibit left me half convinced; there were many rapidly executed drawings and sketches, which was interesting as we don't know well this part of Picasso's work but which didn't really speak to me. I preferred the second part of the show which was more "Picasso style" and as such more accessible.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

South Africa: The Art of a Nation
@ British Museum, London, England
Learn more about South Africa history
01 Jan, 2017

Nice exhibit with interesting panels on South Africa history. Actually I enjoyed more reading the texts than really looked at the art pieces displayed. A nice kids circuit though.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Hair by Sam McKnight
@ Somerset House, London, England
Discovery of an emblematic image maker
01 Jan, 2017

It is more the set up than the texts and panels which will be remembered from this exhibit. The visitor is carried out from a catwalk show backstage to the catwalk itself with video broadcast of hair dressing and fashion shows, and many magazine covers and photos of personalities and models "created" by Mc Knight. Interesting view on how the image of famous people - such as Kate Moss, Madonna or Lady Di - is built and the role of hair dress (but not only) in this process.

Magali
Magali

Magali reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
A lot
28 Dec, 2016

Beaucoup de tableaux (un peu trop ?), beaucoup trop de monde, mais beaucoup d'oeuvres magnifiques. La salle Matisse est vraiment superbe, quelques très beaux Cézanne et des Picasso dispersés ça et là. Impresionnant !

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Festivities and Entertainment at Court
@ Chateau Versailles, Versailles, France
Good but I have seen better
23 Dec, 2016

A nice educational exhibit but I have seen better in Versailles. The texts and panels were very often in darkness (and only in French). Still some interesting and fun facts with an amazing costumes displayed and great theatre sets shown.

FDR2017
FDR2017

FDR2017 reviewed

Happy I fit this into my Paris stay
21 Dec, 2016

I'm so happy I managed to fit this exhibition in during my stay in Paris. A very moving selection of journals, cartoons, literature, and photography. Some of the work presents a sense of humor that threads through the exhibit which is most refreshing during the dark subject matter -may have you chuckling amongst your tears. It's accompanied with a terrific soundtrack. I also really enjoyed the selected cinema clips none of which I was familiar with-fascinating!

FDR2017
FDR2017

FDR2017 reviewed

Getting to know Frederic Bazille
19 Dec, 2016

A very well laid out and presented introduction to the life, art work, and history of Frederic Bazille and his impressionist contemporaries. One gets a window into the youth of this all star cast of impressionists which is quite inspiring.

Lucie Heudier
Lucie Heudier

Lucie Heudier reviewed

Hergé
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
Nice exhibition!
18 Dec, 2016

Really nice exhibition that explain Hergé's life and nice to do with kids!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

A quality one!
18 Dec, 2016

Less known than his friends Monet or Renoir, Bazille was however a talented painter who died young but left behind some masterpieces. I learned a lot about his friendship with the impressionists and the role he played in the movement. The beginning of the show is a bit disappointing with the narrowness of the rooms but it gets better as we move in. And I would also say that after the "second empire exhibit", the paintings seem at first quite small. But an overall good impression on this exhibit!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

The Spectacular Second Empire, 1852-1870
@ Musée d'Orsay, Paris, France
"Spectacular" is its name!
18 Dec, 2016

I was expecting a nice yet not exciting show and I was really pleasantly surprised. Many huge gorgeous paintings with absorbing explanations. The Musée d'Orsay is resolutely good at setting up its exhibits and triggering the visitors' interest! Cherry on the cake: my five year old daughter loved it as much as I did.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

The Spectacular Second Empire, 1852-1870
@ Musée d'Orsay, Paris, France
The best kind of history lesson
18 Dec, 2016

For anybody who loves Paris and has even the slightest interest in history this is the show to see. The content is as good as it gets but mostly the story is there to guide you through it.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Intro to a lesser known impressionist
18 Dec, 2016

Feels a little cavernous walking into this show but overall it's a nice intro to a talented artist who ran with the likes of Monet. Perhaps he could have been one of the greats had he not volunteered and died in the Franco-Prussian conflict...?

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
La collection Chtchoukine
16 Dec, 2016

Si il y a une exposition A NE PAS MANQUER, c'est bien celle ci! en effet tous les goûts sont contentés. Chtchoukine a su se procurer un panel des plus grands peintres, La mise en scène à la fondation Vuitton est remarquable. La promenade dans ce magnifique site est bien orchestrée. Un régal! allez y vers 17h, et vous n'aurez pas trop de monde.

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

René Magritte: The Betrayal of Images
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
Le philosophe
13 Dec, 2016

Magritte est plus un philosophe qu'un peintre, il dit de lui même "je ne suis pas peintre" la peinture, pour lui, est un outil pour représenter une association d'idées et doit conduire à une réflexion, ou encore la peinture est un jeu d'illusion. Il aimait peindre le banal provoquant une sensation de mystère.Pour celui qui aime Magritte, cette exposition nous montre des tableaux quasi inconnus du grand public et elle est remarquablement mise en scène. Je n'ai malheureusement pas rêvé, comme je l'attends d'une exposition trop de torture d'esprit ! Du reste , était-ce une exposition?.............

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Rembrandt in Confidence
@ Jacquemart-André, Paris, France
Just for those who really really love Rembrandt
06 Dec, 2016

Tucked away upstairs the space doesn't do justice to the works on display. It's hardly inviting and the set-up makes it hard to find a rhythm, which in turn interferes with whatever story the curators are trying to tell.

Vân
Vân

Vân reviewed

René Magritte: The Betrayal of Images
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
A must-see exhibition
05 Dec, 2016

Really interesting to see Magritte's paintings and all the philosophy underneath each stroke. He did an excellent work to trigger our wonder of reality versus imagination, or our inner peace versus inner madness... Definitely recommend! (remember to buy the ticket online first, it will save you a lot of time queuing :) )

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Jade: From Emperors to Art Deco
@ Musée Guimet, Paris, France
Jade, des empereurs à l’Art Déco
05 Dec, 2016

Incroyable raffinement dans ce travail du Jade qui est, par excellence, le symbole de l'éternité et de l'immortalité, et l'une des matière les plus difficiles à façonner ....Les chinois sont experts dans la délicatesse et leur façon de nous montrer le passage des formes nomades dans leur monde est étonnant . Le clou de cette très belle exposition est la réalisation de différents éléments par Cartier: le rosaire fait à partir de colliers de mandarins, offert à l'impératrice Eugénie, les 25 modèles de pendules mystérieuses et surtout le somptueux collier en perles de jade de Barbara Hutton. bon moment!