patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Hodler Monet Munch
@ Marmottan-Monet, Paris, France
La peinture de l'impossible
16 Nov, 2016

Le pari n'était pas gagné de présenter trois peintres qui ne se sont jamais rencontrés!or cette exposition met en scène le croisement inattendu entre ces différents peintres sur des thèmes difficiles à aborder tels que le soleil, l'eau, la neige. La radicalité de leur démarche est du reste assez incroyable, ils nous offrent une expérience jusqu'au boutiste de leur travail....... C'est un bon moment à ne pas rater

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Agnes Martin
@ Guggenheim, New York, USA
I want an Agnes Martin above my couch
15 Nov, 2016

Martin's work has a light and accessible feel to it. It makes for a nice stroll up and down the museum's circular layout which also helps the visitor see how the artist progressed through her career.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Max Beckmann in New York
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
Short and sweet...with all the right stuff
15 Nov, 2016

Best part was getting a feel for the artist and the period...pre- to post-war, personal and professional. And to think he died of a heart attack on his way to see his art displayed at the Met! It's not a big show but it's worth walking through and reading the wall texts.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Jerusalem, 1000-1400: Every People Under Heaven
@ Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, USA
The best kind of history lesson
15 Nov, 2016

All the art and objects are put in context which makes it easy to walk through the long history of this city that still plays a big role in current affairs. Images of the city today are projected on the walls above the content which is fun given most of it dates back a while. Check it out!

Magali
Magali

Magali reviewed

Klimt forever
14 Nov, 2016

Small but fabulous exhibition with amazing masterpieces! The building itself is worth visiting...and the cafe is great too, you feel like you are in Vienna (authentic sachertorte)

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Effective, relevant, sobering
14 Nov, 2016

It's an important and relevant story told chronologically through the works and lives of the artists. It's well laid out which makes the walk-through easy and educational for all visitors.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Public, Private, Secret
@ International Center of Photography, New York, USA
Makes one rethink use of social media
14 Nov, 2016

While small, the exhibit felt all over the place...hard to understand how it was organized. But the relevance of some works makes it worth seeing.

Carine
Carine

Carine reviewed

Hodler Monet Munch
@ Marmottan-Monet, Paris, France
Pur moment de bonheur
13 Nov, 2016

Un petit musée avec énormément de charme. Œuvres présentées d une grande splendeur

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

René Magritte: The Betrayal of Images
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
Super interesting show
09 Nov, 2016

I didn't really know Magritte's work, but did know the artist of course. I was very lucky to visit the exhibit with a super great guide who explained many things and gave anecdotes on the artist and his work. She gave us keys to understand Magritte's art!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Hergé
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
Great exhibition
09 Nov, 2016

Great exhibition which reminded me of my childhood memories when I was reading Tintin :)

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
So many masterpieces in one exhibit
05 Nov, 2016

Matisse, Cezanne, Picasso, Gauguin, Monet... they're all here! So many incredible paintings gathered at the Fondation. I specially loved the room dedicated to Matisse's bright and huge art works. The film explaining how Shchukin acquired this amazing collection is great as well.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
Big show with big art
05 Nov, 2016

It's an impressive collection this Russian put together...especially when you put it in context of the times which the show did a good job doing. But while I get the draw of exhibiting the entire collection I think 4 floors of paintings with large crowds is a bit much. But it's a show worth seeing...especially when you couple it with a stop by the restaurant for a quick bite!

Pain
Pain

Pain reviewed

Biped Khakhar: You Can't Please All
@ Tate Modern, London, England
Good
05 Nov, 2016

Good

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

A good one needing some time
05 Nov, 2016

An interesting confrontation of texts and photos from the Internet about society issues. The organization of all the materials available is sometimes a bit messy with maybe too much information. You need some time to go through everything. But you can also look randomly at what is presented - which I did - and enjoy the overall experience.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Gordon Parks: I Am You
@ C/O Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Outstanding! Loved it.
05 Nov, 2016

My first 5/5 rating! Beautiful pictures. Clear and captivating explanations. Easy to go through the exhibit. Definitely a must see when in Berlin! Congrats to C/O Berlin for this amazing show!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Dada Africa: Dialogue with the Other
@ Berlinische Galerie, Berlin, Germany
Not a must but cool
03 Nov, 2016

Nice and different exhibit. Not a must to see but definitely worth it if you're around.

Eléonore
Eléonore

Eléonore reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
An amazing travel in a visionary's world
02 Nov, 2016

The museum is packed but it worth it : the collection is splendid and every new room is a surprise.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

"Conflict is a narrative"
01 Nov, 2016

As the exhibit description says, it forces "us to become a critical observers, unable to passively lose ourselves in the spectacle". This show succeeds in doing just that.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Gordon Parks: I Am You
@ C/O Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Picture perfect
01 Nov, 2016

Great photographs from NYC, Washington DC, the deep South, Latin America and elsewhere. I was especially struck by the story of Gordon Park's visit to and photos of the Rio favelas. A must see if in Berlin!

Caroline
Caroline

Caroline reviewed

Hergé
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
Great exhibit
30 Oct, 2016

Learning more about Hergé's work, style and inspiration about his main life work was both insightful and a step back into childhood!

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Dada Africa: Dialogue with the Other
@ Berlinische Galerie, Berlin, Germany
Different and very cool
29 Oct, 2016

Didn't know what to expect walking in but loved what I saw. The show was well laid out and the wall text was clear and informative. One thing I liked was the hand-out for visitors in the gallery - instead of writing the name of each piece and its artist on the wall there's just a number which you can then easily find and read more about in the hand-out.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Modern Visionaries: Paul Scheerbart, Bruno Taut, Paul Goesch
@ Berlinische Galerie, Berlin, Germany
Small but informative
29 Oct, 2016

Worth stopping by this space if you're in the museum. The wall text is informative and supportive of the images - gave some interesting background on the artists...

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Visions of Archipelago
@ Fondation Clément, Martinique, Caribbean
Visions of Archipelago
26 Oct, 2016

Beaux visages de la Caraïbe

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Hervé Beuze: Armature
@ Fondation Clément, Martinique, Caribbean
Hervé Beuze: Armature
26 Oct, 2016

Courez y, c'est petit mais Géant!

LBGarcia
LBGarcia

LBGarcia reviewed

Herb Ritts: In Full Light
@ Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, France
Great Exhibit - would recommend!
24 Oct, 2016

Great exhibit, would recommend! I wish there was more on display from this photography master, but good content and nice clean open space.