patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Jean Fautrier: Texture and Light
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
10 Feb, 2018

Inconnu du grand public ce peintre mérite le détour! Bien que très sombre, sa peinture ne laisse pas indifférent.........La première partie est nettement plus structurée, et m'a plue davantage; après il évolue vers une peinture plus informelle encore plus noire voire très noire.........

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Jean Fautrier: Texture and Light
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
09 Feb, 2018

When it comes to museum exhibitions this was the best discovery experience I've had in a while. An artist so well known in his time, so influential on the artists after him and yet largely unknown today. The show is big, expansive (meaning no running into people) and well put together. If you're in Paris you won't regret this one.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

31 Jan, 2018

Some beautiful art pieces and and overall good moment but I was not convinced by the supporting text panels. However I discovered Degas' talent for poetry and I liked the quotations from Paul Valery all along the exhibition. The Musée d'Orsay had done better but it is still a nice show to see.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

28 Jan, 2018

Combining artist (Degas) and writer (Valéry) who know each other intimately is a great idea for an exhibition. The text and the art support each other in a way that lets their relationship guide you through the show. Sadly the low ceilings and general setup didn’t do justice the works on display.

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

23 Jan, 2018

voici une trés belle exposition ! trés intéressante mais le bonhomme exposé était fort intéressant également. exposition linéaire. on part de la fabrique de teintures familiale et on arrive au musée plus tard nommé Guimet. c'est didactique et pas une seule seconde ennuyeux. nombreux documents, nombreux objets , un peu de carnets de bord ou de lettres, des photos, mais surtout de magnifiques esquisses ou croquis pris tout au long du voyage par F.Régamey. un régal ! j'aime moins ses grands tableaux faits au retour d'aprés les croquis de voyage mais en se remettant dans l'esprit de l'époque ils deviennent indispensables. cette exposition serait faite sur un Emile Guimet actuel, on la regarderait sur Instagram et on l'appellerait : "Guimet in Asia "ou le rad-trip de toute une vie et les documents seraient des photos prises à l'Iphone 10.

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

A Photographer For Eurazeo
@ Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, France
23 Jan, 2018

la seule photo réellement belle de cet artiste est celle-ci, la bleue . Elle est pleine de vide comme les autres mais la lumière est intéressante et les couleurs splendides. les autres photos sont moins colorées,la lumière est plate 'sauf une de nuit ) mais surtout c'est vide tout ça. quel est le propos et puis ça s'appelle photographie mais c'est construit avec photoshop. photoshopies plutôt . ah,! les tirages sont plutôt bons et grands surtout,pour masquer la vacuité du propos. les photos sont exposées dans une pièce où on trouve d'autres artistes forts différents les uns des autres. la MEP, n'est pas un bazar oriental, la scénographie pêche sérieusement pour cette expo précise.

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

Malick Sidibé: Mali Twist
@ Fondation Cartier, Paris, France
23 Jan, 2018

comment faire d'un photographe de quartier une star internationale de la photo ? Malik Sidibé est un photographe de quartier faisant honnêtement son boulot et aurait dû le rester (photographe de quartier ). pourquoi fait on une exposition dans un lieu aussi prestigieux que la Fondation Cartier de photographies de studio (trés peu de photos hors des murs de son studio si ce n'est dans les boites de nuits maliennes ) à peu prés toutes les même ? même fond,même éclairage, seuls les gens changent. beaux tirages par contre. mais je ne comprend spas l'intéret de ces photos. les snobs de la culture parisienne ou les marchands d'art voulant faire grimper la côte de Sidibé ont peut-être de bonnes relations à la Fondation Cartier ?

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Gauguin: Artist As Alchemist
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
22 Jan, 2018

Though not an absolute fan of Gauguin's work, I had a good time at this exhibition where I learn quite a lot on his life. I didn't really appreciate the first part of the show, but then his art becomes somewhat brighter and colored which is probably easier to enjoy. The section on his life and work in Tahiti was cool as well. Overall a good show with many difference arts and technics, even if I still prefer his "classical" paintings.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Gauguin: Artist As Alchemist
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
20 Jan, 2018

Caught this show on a Saturday afternoon so while crowded it was still fairly easy to navigate. Learned about the artist and saw his work evolve which was fun. And a great mix of static pieces and short movies which made the visit more dynamic and educational.

Rahim
Rahim

Rahim reviewed

Time after Time, Space after Space
@ Museo del Novecento, Milan, Italy
13 Jan, 2018

Great place! Great views on the duomo!!

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Rubens: Princely Portraits
@ Luxembourg, Paris, France
09 Jan, 2018

Marie de Médicis commande à Rubens 25 tableaux racontant sa vie pour son nouveau palais, le palais du Luxembourg! Ce n'est pas un hasard si c'est Rubens qui a été choisi car il est réellement un peintre de cour ayant côtoyé "les grands"! Du coup il a eu un vrai rôle d'ambassadeur et est investi de missions diplomatiques. Outre le fait que Rubens n'a pas son pareil dans le rendu des couleurs, des étoffes et des détails (la dentelle, les collerettes ) le côté historique de cette exposition est très intéressant et la scénographie y est remarquable; chaque salle de couleur différente, est, en quelque sorte, un détail du grand arbre généalogique du début. C'est une bonne exposition.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Being Modern: MoMA in Paris
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
08 Jan, 2018

Une belle expo, très longue - comme souvent à la Fondation Louis Vuitton - qui présentent de belles oeuvres. J'ai particulièrement aimé à la fin l'installation musicale qui est incroyable et qui a elle seule vaut le détour !

Geoffroy
Geoffroy

Geoffroy reviewed

Takashi Murakami: Lineage of Eccentrics
@ MFA Boston, Boston Area, USA
05 Jan, 2018

Interesting juxtaposition of the old and the new. I very much enjoyed Murakami's works, but the Eccentrics made the exhibit for me.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Being Modern: MoMA in Paris
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
02 Jan, 2018

As is often the case at FLV the exhibition is huge so pace yourself. But as is also often the case it's excellent!! Big works is chronological order - from MoMA's founding in rented space in the Heckscher Building in NYC to today's globally-recognized institution - which were fairly easy to navigate even with the crowd and supported by helpful text panels for each gallery.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

23 Dec, 2017

I liked the theme of this show. It's something we've all had on our minds so to see it laid out is helpful to gain perspective in how it is we make ourselves heard.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Pink Floyd: Their Mortal Remains
@ Victoria & Albert, London, England
23 Dec, 2017

This was a fully immersive experience and one not to be missed. From pictures to memorabilia to the feeling of being in an actual concert, this is what exhibitions should feel like.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Anders Zorn: Sweden’s Master Painter
@ Petit Palais, Paris, France
19 Nov, 2017

Glad the Petit Palais opened this artist up to everyone because he doesn’t disappoint. From the technique to the playfulness of his subjects and the set-up of the exhibition itself this exhibition is a great discovery.

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Art of Pastels from Degas to Redon
@ Petit Palais, Paris, France
14 Nov, 2017

"l'art du pastel" Allez y! cette exposition est d'une fraîcheur incroyable,tellement reposante et gai! Le pastel est une matière souple et fragile qui met en valeur la légèreté, la souplesse des matières. Des peintres moins connus tels que Riesener, Charles Léandre, Emile Guillaume Adam , James Tissot côtoient des maîtres tels que Gaugin, Renoir, Berthe Morisot,, Mary Cassat, Degas..... c'est sublime!

patrick
patrick

patrick reviewed

Anders Zorn: Sweden’s Master Painter
@ Petit Palais, Paris, France
14 Nov, 2017

Le Petit Palais vaut déjà le détour! Anders Zorn était pour moi un inconnu que j'ai eu de la chance de découvrir, aquarelliste de grand talent, peintre voyageur... j'ai compris qu'il était un maître très populaire en Scandinavie, et pour cause, il a une grande maîtrise de l'aquarelle, du portrait en particulier, un rendu des tissus incroyable, une grande maîtrise des effets d'eau, à tel point qu'on croit admirer des photographies. Ses Nus ressemblent à s'y méprendre à ceux de Renoir! Peintre à découvrir ou à revoir absolument

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Chagall: Fantasies for the Stage
@ LACMA, Los Angeles, USA
12 Nov, 2017

It’s hard to go wrong at a place like LACMA and its big, open galleries. There was a real element of theater to this show wirh stages, mannequins and music, as well as a narrative that was easy to follow. Perfect first-date spot ;)

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Adrían Villar Rojas: Theater of Disappearance
@ MOCA Geffen Contemporary, Los Angeles, USA
12 Nov, 2017

The artist has his ideas about how he wants audiences to experience this show but as a visitor I could have used a frame of reference from which to approach it. It’s a very different experience than other exhibitions so worth the visit but as I left I realized I may not have fully grasped his narrative.

Edouard
Edouard

Edouard reviewed

Cézanne Portraits
@ National Portrait Gallery UK, London, England
04 Nov, 2017

Well worth it. Busy but didnt need to book in advance, right size, text not too far fetched with good spin to Cezanne’s story as son or an unsupportive banker! - spot on

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Nan Goldin: Family History
@ Portland Museum of Art, Portland ME, USA
02 Nov, 2017

une atmosphère un peu spéciale pour cette expo mais l’ensemble n’est pas mal. Les deux films projetés sont assez bien faits. L’un met en parallèle des œuvres du Louvre avec des photos de l’artiste sur un fond musical assez envoûtant. C’est parfois un peu dérangeant mais globalement assez agréable à regarder et un moment plutôt apaisant. Ce n’est pas l’exposition de l’année mais ça vaut tout de même le coup d’y faire un tour si vous êtes à Portland.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Child’s Play: Representations in Adolescence
@ Portland Museum of Art, Portland ME, USA
02 Nov, 2017

I was really impressed by the museum as a whole but didn’t enjoy this specific exhibit. I neither really understood its purpose nor liked the photos displayed.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

XYZT: A Journey in 4 Dimensions
@ Peabody Essex, Boston Area, USA
02 Nov, 2017

This is a short exhibition but really interactive and fun. We had a great time as a family playing within the installations. One conclusion: GO!