Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Irving Penn
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
01 Oct, 2017

This is a fun show that has something for everyone. Fashion, travels, artists, actors...Penn got them all! And I get the feeling he had fun doing it.

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

Irving Penn
@ Grand Palais, Paris, France
30 Sep, 2017

Voici une bien belle exposition de photos. trés classique, linéaire, mise en scène sobre, chronologique et pourtant la magie opère. Ici pas de formats gigantesques pour masquer la vacuité du propos comme dans tant d'expositions photographiques, pas de tout petits formats que l'on ne peut pas apercevoir dés qu'il y a plus de deux personnes autour. Ici, des formats 50x50 cm . quasiment que du noir et blanc et surtout une qualité de tirages pas si fréquente. Beaucoup de tirages au platine donnant une belle gamme de gris chauds. Penn aimait le noir et blanc qu'il tirait lui-même. les rares fois où il faisait de la couleur, il faisait faire les tirages par d'autres. Regardez donc le portrait du papou en couleurs ( exposé pour la première fois ) et juste en dessous,exactement le même en noir et blanc. c'est une démonstration magistrale de la force du noir et blanc ou de la difficulté de faire de belles photos couleurs. Mon coup de coeur, mis à part le très connu portrait de Picasso, c'est la dernière image de l'expo, une cafetière toute simple, tirage baryté viré trés chaud. une merveille de sobriété et un tirage parfait.

Antoine
Antoine

Antoine reviewed

Anne and Patrick Poirier: Argentine Vagabonds
@ Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, France
22 Sep, 2017

Superbe exposition à voir absolument :-), c est magnifique

FDR2017
FDR2017

FDR2017 reviewed

David Hockney
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
22 Sep, 2017

"Love Life" and love Pompidou.. this exhibit rocked. Super colorful display of Hockneys enormous work in a very fitting space. If you're a Hockney fan def check this out. I look forward to comparing to his exhibition in Venice

FDR2017
FDR2017

FDR2017 reviewed

Jean Dubuffet - The Deep End
@ Stedelijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands
22 Sep, 2017

Small exhibit. Work is an interesting play on perception.. makes me think about what I can create from what I see when I look down.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Edward Krasiński
@ Stedelijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Discovery
18 Sep, 2017

I discovered this artist through the exhibition which I really enjoyed. Loved the floating sculptures with shadows and the blue line that connects all his works.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Jean Dubuffet - The Deep End
@ Stedelijk, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Grab an audio guide
18 Sep, 2017

It's a perfect sized show to go with your lunch at the Stedelijk Restaurant. And better with the audio guide.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Sea Views
@ Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, Netherlands
If you like the ocean...
15 Sep, 2017

...you can't go wrong with this show. It's very small but if you're at the Rijksmuseum in the next couple days it's worth stopping by this gallery.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Alberto Giacometti
@ Tate Modern, London, England
From A to G
10 Sep, 2017

First thing you get walking into this show are some of Giacometti's works as a kid. By the end you've gone through his life and evolution as an artist. His paintings aren't my style but alongside the sculpture this show works beautifully.

Edouard
Edouard

Edouard reviewed

Soul of a Nation: Art in the Age of Black Power
@ Tate Modern, London, England
Not convinced
09 Sep, 2017

Purpose gets a bit lost by the variety of displays wheater paintings, art, crafts

Edouard
Edouard

Edouard reviewed

Alberto Giacometti
@ Tate Modern, London, England
Made it and glad I did
09 Sep, 2017

Penultimate day but well worth it. Great displays between miniature and taller figures + balance with paintings. Give it a go by tomorrow...

Antoine
Antoine

Antoine reviewed

David Hockney
@ Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
superbe expo
07 Sep, 2017

Superbe expo de David Hockney! à faire absolument!

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

Derain, Balthus, Giacometti: An Artistic Friendship
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
C'est un thème original
06 Sep, 2017

C’est assez intéressant et peu commun de voir une exposition confronter 3 artistes comme ça, comprendre ce qui les lie dans leurs oeuvres et dans leurs vies personnelles. J’ai particulièrement aimé Derain et Giacometti.

Antoine
Antoine

Antoine reviewed

Derain, Balthus, Giacometti: An Artistic Friendship
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
suberbe exposition
05 Sep, 2017

Une belle exposition qui met en lumière les relations des trois artistes et présente une sélection très riche de leurs oeuvres. Attention l’exposition est assez longue, donc impossible de la faire au pas de course.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

AutoPhoto
@ Fondation Cartier, Paris, France
Pas mal !
04 Sep, 2017

C'est une bonne expo avec de très belles photos et une contextualisation intéressante. Il y a beaucoup de choses à voir et à lire, mais pour ma part j'y suis allée assez vite car le sujet en soi ne me passionnait pas. Cela dit à voir absolument pour qui aime les voitures (forcément) et la photo!

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

AutoPhoto
@ Fondation Cartier, Paris, France
Start your engines
03 Sep, 2017

Photos over, under and inside cars. Taken together it's a good look - not too long not too short - into their cultural and physical implications. And it was pretty young vibe, especially young parents with kids.

Aurel
Aurel

Aurel reviewed

Japanese Landscapes, from Hokusai to Hasui
@ Musée Guimet, Paris, France
Loved it !
29 Aug, 2017

Sublime exhibition ! Many details on the estampes. The only thing is the explanations are not well placed But it does not change the fact that the exhibition make you travel. And the Guimet Museum is a fantastic place to visit as well.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

From Selfie to Self-Expression
@ Saatchi Gallery, London, England
Interesting show
29 Aug, 2017

Interesting to see how the trend of "taking a selfie" finally turned into a form of art today.

EleanorJames
EleanorJames

EleanorJames reviewed

Perfume: A Sensory Journey Through Contemporary Scent
@ Somerset House, London, England
Something successfully different
28 Aug, 2017

This exhibition is unlike any I've been to before. It is really worth the visit, simply for the experience. Each perfume was presented in a new sensory way, and I learnt about coming across smells in real life and what makes a perfume a perfume. It is not full of information plaques, and you can make notes on a card collected at the beginning and see just how your description compares to the professionals' at the end of each section, which let's you explore the way in which you personally understand scents and smells.

Violettecruse
Violettecruse

Violettecruse reviewed

Christian Dior
@ MAD Paris, Paris, France
Amazing !!
26 Aug, 2017

Amazing exhibition! Of course for fashion lovers but not only. Very beautiful display and merchandising, impressive quantity of dresses and accessories. I went on a Sunday morning so very busy sadly. Every room is very different from the previous one so the show is very entertaining.I highly recommend this exhibition. You will discover many pieces, see some famous pieces and realize how much work fashion is. And fashion is art!! Enjoy

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Derain, Balthus, Giacometti: An Artistic Friendship
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
A walk among friends
25 Aug, 2017

Not only a walk among friends because these three artists were friends but also a walk among friends because the space and length of the show make for a good visit with friends. Always interesting to get a look at artists' personal relationships to see where their inspirations came from.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Derain, Balthus, Giacometti: An Artistic Friendship
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
3 masters in one show
25 Aug, 2017

I really liked the paintings from Derain: colorful and easy to get lost in. Balthus work is sadder but I still liked the melancholy you can feel while looking at the child paintings. Giacometti remains a bit complicated for me to apprehend, but the mix of these art pieces was worth it. Maybe the show was lacking additional explanations on how those 3 artists and their works articulated. But this is still a great exhibit to go for if you're in Paris!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Balenciaga: Shaping Fashion
@ Victoria & Albert, London, England
Well structured show and fantastic dresses!
25 Aug, 2017

I really enjoyed this show, because of many reasons: first because I love fashion and Balenciaga is considered as one of the fashion industry Masters; he's influenced the work of many fashion designers until today. Second because I love when art exhibitions are well structured and easy to follow/understand: it's the case here: everything is very clear, well organized, every single dress gets its own board with a lot of explanations; the ground floor is dedicated to Balenciaga and his work while the second is dedicated to the work of other designers who kind of "re-used" some of his techniques. Third because all the clothes displayed were nothing short of amazing and it's an absolute pleasure to the eyes! So go for this show if you're fond of fashion and clothes :)

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Dioramas: The Dream of Forms
@ Palais de Tokyo, Paris, France
Super set-up
22 Aug, 2017

I didn't know there was such a story to tell about dioramas, and it was told in a really fun and dynamic way. As good a show for lovers as it is for the family!

Ger
Ger

Ger reviewed

Dioramas: The Dream of Forms
@ Palais de Tokyo, Paris, France
Surprising show curated with style
20 Aug, 2017

Very informative, surprising theme. Lots of great works. Excellent scenography. Loved the experience.