Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Kiefer Rodin
@ Rodin Museum, Paris, France
Still a beautiful place to go
19 Mar, 2017

I was a bit disappointed by this show and especially its setting. Comparisons are maid between Kiefer and Rodin but their works are not exhibited in the same rooms. So except for a specialist it is not easy to really understand these comparisons and to mentally transpose what is explained to what you see. But the Kiefer part itself is awesome with many great pieces exposed. And no need to remind you that the museum is a jewel. Take the opportunity of your visit to grab a coffee at the café's terrace. If you come with children - they will enjoy the garden very much - but keep in mind that the strollers are not allowed in the (permanent and temporary) exhibition rooms.

Morgane
Morgane

Morgane reviewed

Une très exposition intéressante sur les interroga
19 Mar, 2017

J'ai trouvé le thème très intéressant, c'est ce qui m'a poussé à y aller. Je n'ai pas été déçue sur place, la collection est grandiose car des auteurs très connus se retrouvent à côté d'autres beaucoup plus discrets. Des écriteaux bien faits, mais pas sous chaque toile. Et un aménagement très mystérieux et plutôt sombre qui reflète l'atmosphère du thème de l'exposition. Je recommande !

Jessyka
Jessyka

Jessyka reviewed

Gesture and Material: “Another” Abstraction, Paris 1945-1965
@ Fondation Clément, Martinique, Caribbean
Dimanche en famille
13 Mar, 2017

We choose the "dimanche en famille" guided tour and had a wonderful time! It's a private visit for kids. The guide really talks to the kids and explains lot of interesting things, for parents too! After the exhibit, all family can do painting under the trees in the beautiful garden I recommend for sure !!! And it's free...

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Kimono: Ladies’ Delight
@ Musée Guimet, Paris, France
Beautiful and interesting!
11 Mar, 2017

Overall I really enjoyed this show. First, there is this timeline on the wall at the entrance which recaps and compares the history of Japan and France/Occidental world, over the last 5 centuries. Obviously high level but very useful when you doesn't know a clue about Eastern history before the XXth century. We have then many kimonos displayed. Painted, embroided, colored, in different materials going from cotton to silk through linen, along with useful and simple explanations. I was a disappointed though not to see any photos or images of Japanese women or even manikins wearing them. The last room is as unexpected as it is beautiful. A far more contemporary atmosphere to address the japonism trend very much in fashion in France and Europe at the end of the 19th and until recently. Don't miss the film at the end of the exhibit ; though a bit long it is well done and informative.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Couci couça
11 Mar, 2017

je m'attendais à une expo excitante, retraçant la vie ou une partie de la vie d'Alexandra David Neel avec des aventures presque. J'y suis même allée avec ma fille de 5 ans en pensant que ça allait l'amuser mais je n'ai pas été convaincue. C'est une exposition bien documentée mais pas assez abordable et il manque des petits éléments d'explications simples, une carte du monde pour nous faire suivre ses périples, ce genre de choses...

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Kimono: Ladies’ Delight
@ Musée Guimet, Paris, France
Half fashion, half history lesson
10 Mar, 2017

Nice garments with plenty of cool designs and needed context provided by the text panels. And I liked the way they brought it all home by laying out the influence Kimonos have on modern fashion.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Lama-lady
10 Mar, 2017

I came away recognizing that long ago the world was truly a big and mysterious place. These days we don't hear of anyone coming back from a years-long trip and laying out artifacts that helps the world discover a new people / culture. It's a cool thought but everything on this planet is more or less online for our insta-gratification. Besides that the show was small and may come as a disappointment if you came just to see it.

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Karel Appel: Art As Celebration !
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
An explosion of colors and joy!
08 Mar, 2017

Again a big congrats to the Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris! I am rarely disappointed by the exhibitions presented there. This one is an ode to happiness, colors and imagination. The show is aptly named: Art is a celebration. I particularly loved a film of the artist improvising a painting, he appears possessed by his own art, at first we think he does anything and everything and suddenly the painting is here, beautiful and masterful... I also liked a lot the thickness of the paint coat, the irregularity of the surface. Beautiful from near and far, from the front and from aside. So go go go and bring your family (of all ages)!

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Rita Kernn-Larsen: Surrealist Paintings
@ Peggy Guggenheim, Venice, Italy
Can't help but make the Dali comparison
06 Mar, 2017

If only just because it's the big name in surrealist painting I couldn't help but think 'Dali' walking into this show. It's the kind of works you can stand in front for a while and think up things you see along the way. It's also in a really small setting which is nice (especially when there are few other visitors) given the relatively few paintings on view. And I'll add that having seen a couple shows at this museum I feel like I've gotten to know Peggy a little better...

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

When in Venice...
05 Mar, 2017

The show brings great works to a great space for a great walk through the painter's life. I enjoyed his paintings (though you sometimes struggle to find the right angle given the glare from the big windows) and I was helped along by simple and informative text panels which is important as I'm no art historian. This is a must if you're in Venice...and a big plus is the cafe's balcony overlooking the Grand Canal!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Get to know this wonderful artist!
05 Mar, 2017

A beautiful exhibit. The right length. A clear evolution of the work from the beginning to the end accompanied by straight forward explanations. In the first room I was not convinced by Tancredi's art but as soon as I entered the second one I've been seduced! Quite big paintings, with many colors, squares, curves, points - big, small, huge, tiny... many points! - vivid tones and however softness conveyed in his work. I encourage everyone to go before it ends on March 13! Also because this show enables to know a bit more about Peggy Guggenheim herself.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

"Work is always born from the place in which it is
05 Mar, 2017

I enjoyed discovering this artist who used to have a studio in Peggy's house just across the courtyard from the actual show. It was fun to see the progression of his work - helped along by clear text panels - in this fairly intimate setting. The space isn't big in the traditional museum sense but when there aren't a lot of people it's awesome. And let me also suggest you make the most of your visit by taking in the gardens with a drink at the café - I did that under the Venice sun and I felt like I was a guest of Peggy's!

John
John

John reviewed

WOW® World of Wearable Art™
@ Peabody Essex, Boston Area, USA
What a piece of garbs
01 Mar, 2017

This is a fascinating exhibit of creativity and impracticality...save for the serious costume party attendee. With outfits bordering on the stuff of sci-fi movie wardrobes, the collection is an impressive display of daringness and imagination with a wide range of personalities coming through from piece to piece. I highly recommend this show.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Karel Appel: Art As Celebration !
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
Fun & colorful
28 Feb, 2017

This was a very fun, colorful & joyful exhibition! I discovered this artist with this show and was happy to have done so as I really enjoyed the time spent there. I like what is behind that: it's inspired from children's drawings and mentally ill people. There is one video showing the artist while he is painting: it's very strong & powerful. I recommend you to go wander along this Karel Appel show!

bertrand servais
bertrand servais

bertrand serv... reviewed

visiting the art-déco
28 Feb, 2017

a very interesting exhibition. the first element of scandal is from the 15th century. a shoe "à la poulaine", the last one a japanese suit torn an dyed, ten years old. in between, you see garments at every century which were scandalous . both men clothes or women clothes. mostly women clothes. you have to admit that those poor girls had not much freedom to get dressed as they wished. i learned that the law created in 1905 or 1906 saying that a woman who wants to wear trousers in Paris must asked a written permission to the Prefecture de Police has been abrogated in 2013. At last ! my favorite outfit was a hunting jacket for woman from England, 1760 ; a wonder of elegance, a delicate curved waist ,bronze color with celadon cuffs. also beach trousers with a sleeveless top of 1930. i could have stayed hours in this exhibition. the light is low on cloths but that's the only way to keep them in good condition after all those years. i have to say that i am into photography, not at all into clothes but this exhibition tickled my curiosity and was worth the visit.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
A must-see while in Paris!
28 Feb, 2017

I just loved the Shchukin exhibition. The collection is nothing short of amazing: only master pieces and major artists. The Fondation is a beautiful building, and I find it's easy to circulate within the rooms as they are all very spacious, even if the flow of visitors is dense. The last 2-3 rooms are dedicated to young Muscovite artists and I liked it less, but anyway, very impressive and great exhibition !!!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Very short exhibit
28 Feb, 2017

This is not my favorite paintings nor favorite period but I have to admit that Leiden is really good when it comes to shades of light. To me, this is a very fine and delicate paintings show and this is what I appreciated. However, the exhibition is very short (2 rooms or so) and not very well indicated within the giant Louvre museum! However, if you go to the Louvre to see Vermeer, you should have a look!

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Bernard Buffet: A Retrospective
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
Disturbing yet very great show to see
28 Feb, 2017

I didn't really know Bernard Buffet's work, so I really wanted to see this show to discover it. Well, this is the kind of exhibition which is very interesting, but can be quite disturbing. Indeed, Buffet's work can be sometimes very hard to look at, I had goose bumps while looking at some of his pieces. But this show is one of those that you're glad to have seen and you should hurry because it's going to close!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Bernard Buffet: A Retrospective
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
Five days left to see it, and it’s worth it!
27 Feb, 2017

I didn’t really know Buffet’s work and was not attracted by it. But I must say that this exhibit was super interesting and very rich. It’s surprising to see that while I don’t really like it, I felt a lot of feelings in his works. His way of painting is sharp and angular, plane and grey (at least in the first part of his career) and still it conveys a kind of softness and a lot of nostalgia. It makes you want to observe and decipher the reason or story behind the painting. There is several series then depicting the horror of war, or associating eroticism and death, it’s more colorful but not cheerful at all. On the contrary, I would almost say that the more colors he puts, the more tense, disturbing and even aggressive his work is. Well, it is a long exhibit full of surprises that I really recommend. NB/ As you have understood, it’s not the best place to bring your children!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Disappointing
24 Feb, 2017

Ok it's not my favorite painting or time in art history and I acknowledge there are beautiful art works with incredible details and treatment of light. But it is a very small exhibition and the two rooms or so are lost in the middle of two galleries; so at first I was not sure to be actually in the exhibit and about its delimitation. I didn't find the texts and panels really clear, and I was sometimes a bit disappointed by the lighting.

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Karel Appel: Art As Celebration !
@ MAM - Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France
Donkeys having a blast!!
24 Feb, 2017

'Feestje' is Dutch for small celebration and it's spot on! I walked into this show not knowing much about Karel Appel and walked out feeling good so I'd say go see it. It's colorful and playful and will be as much fun with your buddy/partner/parent as it will be with your 5 year-old. And as for the donkeys you'll be greeted by 4 of them laughing their heads off :)

Timothy
Timothy

Timothy reviewed

Good to see, not a must see
22 Feb, 2017

If you're into Dutch painting and you're at the Louvre then it's worth seeing. For me I've always been impressed by how these painters worked the light into their scenes. Besides that the show almost felt like an afterthought (which is too bad given the generosity of the Kaplans) - it shared a gallery with impressionist painters and if you're not paying attention you might walk through it without realizing.

Delphine
Delphine

Delphine reviewed

Emmanuel Saulnier: Black Dancing
@ Palais de Tokyo, Paris, France
Nice sculpture show
21 Feb, 2017

Light steel sculptures projecting beautiful shadows on a dark room. It's a nice installation. You won't go at the Palais de Tokyo only to see this room but definitively worth a look when you are here!

Aurelie
Aurelie

Aurelie reviewed

Taro Izumi: Pan
@ Palais de Tokyo, Paris, France
Fun
21 Feb, 2017

Exhibits at the Palais de Tokyo are always startling. You sometimes wonder if it's a joke or real art. But the result is a questioning about what is art, its value, its meaning, its purpose. The Palais de Tokyo is the champion in Paris for these existential questions. Taro Izumi in Pan proposes an amazing installation confronting big photos of footballers in action with monumental sculptures made of everyday furnitures assembled to welcome the sportsmen in action in the same posture as on the pictures they're associated with. It's original and fun! And quite impressive as well.

Tiffany
Tiffany

Tiffany reviewed

Icons of Modern Art: The Shchukin Collection
@ Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
A voir !
21 Feb, 2017

Une collection superbe et très bien mise en scène qui nous re-plonge dans cette période clé de l'histoire de l'art. Nous avons particulièrement aimé les mises en scènes et choix d’œuvres autour de Matisse. N'hésitez pas à prévoir 2 ou 3h : 1H30 ne nous a pas suffit... Seul bémol : le sens de la visite n'est pas toujours très clair.